Shutter Fraternities for Young Women’s Good | Home Land – WSJ.com

I saw this article today in the Wall Street Journal online and makes me think and feel for the writer.  The Fraternity system we have in America is Sexist, Racist and basically down right discriminatory towards women and anyone in between. I even have been a victim of Fraternity discrimination at Southern Connecticut State university and as a result, I have a severe distrust of student clubs, Fraternities and student organizations. I despise student clubs and student orgs on my campus because how they treated me and how they discriminated me on the basis of who I am and my age. That’s why I don’t support any student org or student club on my campus. Even when they have fundraising on campus, I don’t even bother to chip in.

Though back to the article at hand, I have to agree with the writer that if you want to make the campus safer for only for women, but for everyone else. Just shutter and close down the Fraternity system to make it safer for everyone on campus. The one thing I agree with the writer and she says it well in her article;

The Greek system is dedicated to quelling young men’s anxiety about submitting themselves to four years of sissy-pants book learning by providing them with a variety of he-man activities: drinking, drugging, ESPN watching and the sexual mistreatment of women.

I agree with the writer that the fraternity system on any college campus creates a hostile learning environment and an environment of the haves and have nots. It creates a class system on campus that is very hostile for learning and making it unfriendly for the campus community. It robs people of an equal opportunity for learning and for having a college experience.

What I got out of reading the article is that the writer stated her mistrust of the university stems from her rape at the hands of male fraternity members and her distrust of student organizations as a result of her Rape on campus. I do agree with the writer that it is a Title IX violation of not providing equal opportunity in education and it is a Title IX violation of creating a hostile education environment for women.

Article Link
Shutter Fraternities for Young Women’s Good | Home Land – WSJ.com.