One Year After Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Repeal, Transgender & Intersex Military Members Still Forced To Serve Secretly

One Year After Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Repeal, Transgender Military Members Still Forced To Serve Secretly.

As a biological born Intersex person, I am still not holding my breath that the US Military will ever allow Intersex people like myself on Active Duty, Reserve or National Guard. It may not happen in my Lifetime or before I turn 42, I’ll never see in my lifetime, the way this country is heading and going. The only thing that the US Military will ever do is let Intersex people in the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary or the Civil Air Patrol. After DADT being repealed for Gays, lesbians and Bisexuals. I think that Intersex people has gotten the short end of the stick.

DADT to me, still exist for Intersex and for Transgender people and that the only countries that still allow Intersex and/or allow Trans in their military, is the Canadian’s, Czech Republic, Spain, UK, Israel, Thailand and Australia. Which most of them are US NATO allies.  It wouldn’t surprise me one bit, that our US Military personnel are working with Trans and intersex people in other Militaries around the world and within NATO. It would make me wonder, if their okay with working with NATO Allies who have Intersex and Trans personnel in their Military. Why would the US Military have a problem with Intersex and Tran in the Military, when our NATO Allies don’t have any issues with their Trans and Intersex people.

One thing for me, as an Independent Voter, I am withholding my vote for President Obama or Mitt Romney because none of them have done anything for Intersex people in America. As an Intersex person, No political party has done anything for Intersex including myself. Even for President Obama, has not done anything in terms of getting Intersex people Human Rights and repealing DADT for Intersex and Trans people. Which is why I question why should I be voting for either President Obama or Mitt Romney, when neither of them has done anything for and towards Intersex people.

As far as for me, being the only biological born intersex person in the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, it’s as close as I’ll ever get to being in the US Military without serving on Active Duty, Reserve or National Guard. DADT is still a barrier, I still face because being born Intersex, I am banned from Active Duty, Reserve or National Guard Duty because of my Genetic DNA Medical condition. Which is a shame and that the US Military is losing out on potential talent from Intersex people like myself.

Which is why I am not holding out any hope and not holding my breath that a DADT repeal for Trans and Intersex people will happen in my lifetime or before I turn 42.  I know it will never happen and I know President Obama has the power to repeal DADT for Intersex and Trans with a stroke of a pen and an executive order. In my opinion, I’ll never see that happen and the Obama or Romney campaign try all they want in getting vote for them, but for, I am withholding my vote until Intersex & Trans people get civil, Human and the Right to serve in the US military like everyone else.