Racism and Sexism from my eyes

As an Asian American and someone who is born with an Intersex condition. I have experienced many forms of Racism and Sexism in America. Why I am talking about this, is because of what was talked about in my Race and Ethnicity class today. We were watching a video about White privilege and it reminded me how people use their white privilege to promote institutionalize Racism and Sexism towards minorities such as myself. When I saw the video in class today, it gave me a chilling haunting reminder about why Racism and Sexism still exist in America and how Whites use their white privilege to erase and deny minorities such as myself who is Asian American.

I have even experienced many forms of Racism and Sexism in society. One of the many forms of Racism and Sexism I have experienced, is institutionalized racism and sexism by a LGBT group on campus. As an Asian American and an Intersex person, I am almost hidden and invisible. I am treated like the other person, not even a person or a human being at all.  I’m an unknown and within the LGBT group on campus, they have almost made me feel invisible, hidden and even an outcast. They make me feel like I walk around campus wearing a burka and no one knows I am their or exist.

What’s very stark about the LGBT  group is the fact that majority of them are White and there are no racial minorities in the group. What surprises me even more is that there are white members in the group that use their white privilege to erase, hide and deny minorities such as myself. Basically using Institutionalized Racism and sexism to deny and erase minorities from the group. As an Asian American, I have no equal standing in a group made up of majority of White people. What’s worse is that the White people within the LGBT group, try to hide, deny and erase the fact that racism and sexism doesn’t exist. When in the eyes of minorities, Racism and sexism still exist, no matter what form it takes, whether overtly or covertly.

Even in the larger LGBT community, which is made up of mostly White people.  Racial minorities within the LGBT community are largely ignored and made invisible. Which is why LGBT minorities have to work twice as hard as White people within the LGBT community to be recognized. Minority LGBT people have to work so hard to recognized and made visible because white people within the LGBT community use their white privilege to hide and institutionalize Racism and sexism towards LGBT minorities. Even in American society, Racism and sexism still exist in society and use white privilege to deny minorities.

What you see as an Asian American and an Intersex person is the fact that there is institutional racism and sexism no matter where I go. It exist no matter how many times white people think that it doesn’t exist. White people still use their white privilege to promote institutional racism and sexism. It’s done either overtly or covertly and it happens in every segment of the community.

What I learned in my Race and Ethnicity class today is that White Privilege exist in every segment of the American society and community. Minorities such as myself see it all the time. Even when white people say that racism and sexism doesn’t exist. I still see it as an Asian American and what my professor showed me today is that White people still have their White privilege and it exist in the eyes of Minority people such as myself.

One thought on “Racism and Sexism from my eyes

Comments are closed.