The Invisible Minority

One thing I have noticed in  America and in every segment of society is the fact that Race and sex is always an Issue. No matter what race and sex you are, it is always an issue whether you see it or not. For me, as an Asian American and an Intersex person, I see Race and sex as an issue regardless of where I am. Even as a non white minority, Races and sex is something that I see all the time.

One of the many places where I see Race and sex as an issue, is where I go to college. Being Asian American and Intersex, I am always put at a disadvantage because of my race and my intersex condition. I’m a hidden minority campus and as a minority, I have to work twice as hard than any other race to be accepted. Even with my intersex status, I am hidden and invisible to an LGBT group on my campus called Pride Alliance. That is because the majority of people in the Pride Alliance group is white and very few to no racial minorities in the group. Which as a result, I have to work twice as hard as any other racial group to be accepted and recognized. As an Asian American, intersex person and a minority, I see White privilege in the Pride Alliance group that is made up of mostly white people in the group.

Even walking around campus to class and events on campus. I am always invisible and hidden. It’s like nobody knows you exist on campus and even know that your an Asian American and an Intersex person. The one thing I tell people, is that it feels like you walk around campus wearing a Muslim Burka and no knows you exist.It pretty much feels like you don’t exist to every other racial and sexual group. Your made to feel invisible and hidden from them.

It’s why as an Asian American and an Intersex person, I feel like I have to work twice or triple of any other race to be recognized and accepted. Even in segments of community such as nudist community and LGBT community. As a minority, I have to work harder than any other race to be recognized, accepted and taken seriously. The way I see it, their is institutionalized racism and sexism that goes on in every segment of society, whether overtly or covertly. Minorities see it all the time and Whites try to hide it and deny it.

Racism and sexism is something that is an issue in any minority group and as a minority myself, I see Racism and sexism all the time.  I see the fact that their will always be racism and sexism in society and as an Asian American and a intersex person, it is something I face on a daily basis. Even though people think that racism and sexism is not an issue, as a minority I see racism and sexism as an issue and it’s something I have to face and deal with as a minority.