What I value the most in friendship

Friendship is something, I always find very hard to have and maintain. I try to make new friends in new places, but most of the time, they often end up being by myself. I do notice the similarities to the number of friends I have in my social media circles vs the number of friends I have in real life. It’s odd, that I have more friends in social media than I do in Real Life.

I have tried to make friends at Eastern Connecticut State University, but most of the time, I end up being alone and by myself. It usually results of a difference of opinion or feud over a view. I had many friends in a group on campus called Pride alliance. They were good friends, up until one disagreement over a belief and view. My friendship with them ended abruptly all because we had a disagreement over a view or an opinion. At the same time, they didn’t like the fact that I’m a supporter of Radical feminist who oppose trans people. So now my friendship with Pride Alliance has ended all because we had a difference of opinion and view.

Now we don’t see eye to eye and all the members in the Pride Alliance group don’t even recognize and see me as a person on campus. It’s like I don’t exist to them and they in effect have made me feel invisible , hidden, ignored and ostracized. Even when passing them on campus, their members have made me feel like I don’t exist to them

It’s why, sometimes it’s so hard for me to make friends on campus, when your totally new. The friends I thought I had, were very nice until they didn’t like my views and beliefs. It’s when I got dumped and now I’m back to being by myself and alone. On campus, I am just by myself and doing things by myself. I try to interact with people and make friends, but seems like I am always not their type. So it’s why I always back to being by myself and doing things alone.

It goes to show, how my friendship can end as quickly as it can start. I know I have good friends online who have views that are very radical and different from me. They maybe extreme but for me that’s what make them different and it’s the difference that I like.  I’m not the type that ends a friendship over views, & beliefs. That’s what makes friendships last and that’s what I look for in a friend. Is someone regardless of views, beliefs, opinions and how extreme they are. I can still count them as a friend because I know they can stand their ground and stand up for what they believe in. It’s why I am not friends with people who will dump people over views, beliefs or opinions.

What I value the most in a friendship is being able to agree and disagree over things. I value friends who are different and have difference of opinions, views and beliefs. I value friends who can be respectful and respect people’s opinions, views and beliefs. I  value friends who can be honest, truthful, tell it like it is and even lay it all out on the table. It’s why the friends I seek are the ones that can be very honest about themselves, stand on their ground, be open and respectful.

It’s why the friends I had in the Pride Alliance group were not up to par and were the ones that will dump anyone who has a disagreement over a view, opinion or belief. It’s why I am not friends with them and I don’t see them eye to eye. It’s why I am back to being by myself and doing things alone.

One thought on “What I value the most in friendship

Comments are closed.