Intersex Minority

One thing I don’t tell people and this is so hidden that within the Intersex community there is an underline bit of Racism within the Intersex community. Don’t get me wrong, Racism and privilege does exist in society and there is no getting around. In the intersex community I see racism all the time. I see racism in a form or my voice not being heard as an Intersex person and an Asian American Minority. I see racism in a form of transgender people trying to erase my identity and denying my existence as an intersex person and a Minority with an Intersex condition. Even I have seen racism when people have dismissed me as a person and a human being.

Racism is a huge issue and within the Intersex community it’s far worse because I’m an Asian American Minority who is born with an Intersex condition and not white like everyone else. The thing that hurts so much is that Minority voices of those who are born intersex/DSD are silenced and thrown in the back corner cause they are not white or privileged Intersex people. My voice as an Intersex/DSD person has never been heard cause, I get constantly attacked by the white male trans and denied a voice cause of my racial minority. I’m always the hidden and the unknown minority because I’m never allowed a chance to speak my point of view as an Intersex person and a Minority. It’s always those who are white, LGBT or Intersex that get their voices heard or mentioned. Even White male born trans have constantly tried to hide my voice, tried to silence me and even tried to run me out of the Intersex/DSD community

As an Intersex person and an Asian American, I have dealt with racism, sexism and homophobia from all sides and not just from within the Asian American community and the Laotian American community. Also with all aspects of society at large including within the LGBT community as well. It’s why I have found it very hard as an Intersex/DSD person and an Asian American to speak up and tell my story. Too many times, my voice gets shut down because I’m not white enough or a privileged enough to speak. It seems that many in the LGBT camps have not allowed minorities to speak up or let their voices be heard. Which to me, makes me wonder if the LGBT or Intersex community has a hint of racism.

It’s why as an Asian American who is born with an Intersex/DSD condition, I hardly ever get noticed in the media or by any major News Networks. No one in the media or major news networks ever know that there are racial minorities who do have and are born with an Intersex condition as well. It’s like were silenced and hidden because were not light-skinned or privileged enough. It just seems that as an Asian American Minority who has an Intersex condition, no one knows I am intersex/DSD. I’m skipped over so much by the media and major news networks because I’m not white or privileged enough. Most times, when the Major news networks and media talk about Intersex people, it’s mostly those who are white and born intersex and not the other racial minorities that are born Intersex as well.

It’s why as an Asian American, Laotian American who is born with an Intersex/DSD condition called Kallmann’s Syndrome. My voice and story is never heard and is often times drowned out and silenced by other races within the LGBT camps. It’s silenced so much that my blog is the only platform where my voice,  story can be heard and can never be forgotten. Too often minority voices get drowned out and silenced by other races or those with privilege. Even when your story and upbringing is so interesting, that it get’s overshadowed by other races that have privileges and entitlement. Sadly, as an Asian American, Laotian American who is born with an Intersex/DSD condition called Kallmann’s Syndrome. My voice and story will never ever get heard, all because there are some people within the LGBT or Intersex camp who are racist.

2 thoughts on “Intersex Minority

Comments are closed.