Why I hate Connecticut’s economy

There are many good things I like about Connecticut such as the 4 seasons, winter, spring, summer and Fall. I like it because it’s smack in the middle between New York City and Boston, ma. It’s also the Gateway to New England. The nice thing about Connecticut is that it’s home to well-known education institutions such as Yale University and the University of Connecticut. The thing’s I do hate about Connecticut is the lack of jobs in Connecticut. The HIGH cost of living in Connecticut and economic growth so bad that people are sometimes forced to leave Connecticut because they are in search of work or a place that cost less to live on.

Don’t get me wrong, I like living in Connecticut due to its climate and location. What sucks is the politics and the bad economy that lingers in Connecticut and the fact that JOB’s are very hard to come by in this state.  Taxes in Connecticut are so high that No business or company ever wants to set up shop in Connecticut. All the Companies that have been in Connecticut are moving out because the taxes, cost to do business and so much regulation that it makes it hard for any company to thrive in Connecticut. On top of that, cost of living is so high that no middle class family can’t afford to live in Connecticut.

Even for someone like me, who’s looking for work, while finishing college is very tough because no JOB’s are available in my state. The jobs that are available are in places where there is no good public transportation access.  It’s the one thing I hate about the economy in my state is that the job market has dried up so badly that the only way someone like me is ever going to make a living , is to finish up college, Graduate and leave Connecticut to go to other states that have JOBS and the cost of living is cheaper. Right now, I have tried to find work in my state but it seems like it’s getting harder and harder with the economy being in a very bad shape. It doesn’t help when my state raised the minimum wage as well. I’ve been looking for part-time work while finishing up my degree. I’ve sent out so many resumes and applied to so many places that it seems like no one is hiring.

The sad reality, is that there is unemployment discrimination that is going on in this country and no company or business is willing to hire anyone that has been unemployed for too long. Many companies and business are discriminating against the unemployed and won’t hire anyone unless they have a current job history. Which as a result, makes it hard to revive the economy, when companies are giving the long-term unemployed a chance at a job. Which it makes economic recovery very difficult. It’s why I think the federal government should force companies to give the long-term unemployed a chance at a job instead of chucking their resume out the window.

It’s why I ask any company or business that reads this, I’m looking for work and finishing college as well. Give me a chance at a job or the very least a paid Internship while finishing my college degree. I am on LinkedIn and you can find my resume on LinkedIn as well.

Here’s my Linkedin profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/nickchaleunphone