Dealing with Vitiligo

One thing I don’t tell people who I deal with on top of my Intersex condition is also my Vitiligo, which is a skin disorder I had since 2007. It’s a skin disorder where there is a loss of skin pigmentation and it produces a white patch. I’ve had Vitiligo since 2007 and only recently have seen a Dermatologist at the Uconn Health Center in Farmington, Connecticut. I see my dermatologist once or twice a week for photo light therapy to treat Vitiligo. Even though there is no known current cure for Vitiligo, it is treated and well-managed by my dermatologist. It’s why I like going to my Dermatologist on a weekly basis. The Dermatology dept at Uconn is the only place I know if where I feel accepted and comfortable. Any place else like on college campus or anywhere else. I always find acceptance very hard for me. It’s why when I go see my Dermatologist, I am always happy but when I come back on campus, I feel like crap. It’s why for me, when I deal with my Vitiligo, I deal with it alone and hardly ever talk about it. One thing I am glad my Dermatologist allows me is to wear medical make up such as Dermablend to cover up the Vitiligo in between treatments and you have to get permission from the dermatologist to use Dermablend for Vitiligo. It’s why when I leave the campus once a week for Vitiligo treatment, it’s always the highlight of my day. Other than that, on campus, I’m always hidden and very often in the background, never heard or seen. So on top of dealing with my Intersex condition, I also have to deal with Vitiligo, which at the moment, there is no known cure for Vitiligo. So in a way I have a very complex life on my hands and sometimes it’s not easy but other times it’s very easy..