Asian American impact on Ferguson

As an Asian American and Laotian American, my view of Ferguson is that it’s a black and white issue and that I don’t think it has an impact. Even though in America, Asian Americans are in the grey area of Race relations in America. That’s cause many in America view Asian Americans as model Minority, who have assimilated into the American culture and adapted to the American culture. Many Asian Americans like myself who work hard and don’t ask for a hand out. Asian Americans like myself view Education as a key to moving up in the world and making a name for ourselves. It’s why other races such as the African american community are often jealous that Asian Americans can assimilate into the American culture and move up in the American Society.

It’s why with what’s happening in Ferguson, MO, I simply think that as an Asian American, it’s nothing more than a black and white issue. It’s just your classic race issue between African-Americans and white Americans. It’s why for me, I try to stay far away from Race issues in America because Race issues tend to center around Hispanics, African-Americans and white Americans. It just seems that Asian Americans like myself are in the grey area and are hard put in the race issues in America. That’s why I tried to stay out of the Race issues that surrounded this Ferguson mess. I don’t see this Ferguson issue impacting Asian Americans because Asian Americans have stayed out of this issue and hasn’t affected Asian Americans in any shape or form.

In any case, as an Asian American, I have experienced my fair share of Racism but I don’t make it an issue that other races would do. It’s mostly kept quiet within the Asian American community and never talked about. In the Asian American community, Racism is never talked about with outsiders but it’s often talked about within the community and how they view Whites, Hispanics and African-Americans. That’s why when it comes to race issues within the Asian American community and the Laotian American community, race and even sexuality and sexual orientation is not talked about and is sometimes very taboo subject. In the Laotian American community and Asian American community, racism is something they never dealt with because it hasn’t affected on the level that African-Americans and Hispanics face in America. It’s why as a Laotian American and an Asian American, racism is not as common as with other races.

That’s why as a Laotian American and an Asian American, Racism is something that has not affected me or the Lao American community and Asian American community in a way that you see in the African-American and Hispanic community. It’s usually hidden and a taboo topic in the Laotian American community and Asian American community. It’s why as an Asian American and Laotian American, I don’t believe what is happening in Ferguson has any bearing or impact towards Laotian American community and the Asian American community. It’s why, I stayed away from what’s going on in Ferguson and the topic of Race issue between Whites and African-Americans.