My Time at the National Institute of Health

English: Aerial photograph from the north of t...
English: Aerial photograph from the north of the Mark O. Hatfield Clinical Research Center (Building 10) on the National Institutes of Health Bethesda, Maryland campus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My Time at the National Institute of Health in Bethesda Maryland is very interesting. I came to NIH because their was a research study that I was participating called The Role of Gonadotropin Pulsations in the Regulation of Puberty and Fertility. The study is about those who have Kallmann’s syndrome like myself. I was invited by the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda Maryland to participate in the study and I spent a week from May 26 2015 to May 29 2015 at the The Mark O. Hatfield Clinical Research Center. I have to say that the National Institute of Health is a place of Hope for those who have rare conditions and extremely difficult medical conditions. It’s a place where, if your doctor doesn’t know how to treat you, then the National Institute of Health is your last resort. I consider the National Institute of Health and the Mark O. Hatfield Clinical research center the Carnegie Hall of medicine.

Front entrance of the Mark O Hatfield clinical research center of the NIH

When I arrived at the National Institutes of Health, I was very much amazed and in awe at the shear size of of the campus. The National Institutes of Health is unlike any Hospital I have ever seen. This place has researchers, scientist and patients from around the globe come to either get help or research. Who are studying all kinds of diseases and medical conditions. I have met people from all parts of the world and have witnessed many research subjects and seen the work that NIH is doing. Which I know that taxpayers money is well spent on caring and helping people here get healthy. The campus is very massive because it has not only clinical care, but also research studies and clinical studies as well. Also the National Institutes of Health is also next door to the Bethesda Naval Hospital as well. So I also got to meet people from the US Public Health services and the Commissioned Corp as well.

Where I stayed at the National Institute of Health is called the Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center. I stayed in the 5NW of Room 5-2652. Which is part of the Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Research clinic. Both of them put together, makes them one of the largest Clinical research hospitals in the United States of America. It makes most hospitals back home look like outpatient clinics in terms of shear size. The massive size of this place has 240 inpatient beds, 11 operating rooms, 82 day hospital stations, critical care services and research labs, an ambulatory care research facility and a complex array of imaging services. The Clinical Center is also one of the few facilities in the world with state-of-the-art infrastructure that allows for isolation capabilities and infection control while patients participate in clinical research studies. More than 480,000 patients from all 50 states, and from countries around the world, have participated in clinical research at the Clinical Center and I am one of them who have participated in clinical research. What makes this place a standout, is that every US president from Roosevelt to Obama has visited the National Institutes of Health and the Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center. This is also the place that has successfully treated people with Ebola.

The room I stayed in during the research study.
The room I stayed in during the research study.

My experience with the Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center, is that this place is a beacon of hope when your doctor back home doesn’t know how to treat you and this place is the last resort when nothing works back home. The Nurses here at the Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center are the mega Rock Stars of the Nursing community. They can literally teach Nurses back home a thing or two on taking care of people. They took care of me so well, that the Nurses listened to my concerns and learned alot about my medical condition. Even the research fellows here took the time to learn about me and my Kallmann’s Syndrome as well. They hung on to every word I said about my history and medical condition. They asked every question that my doctors back home would NEVER ever ask and took the extra time to talk with me and let me know what is going on with the research on Kallmann’s syndrome and any related medical issues. The Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center gave me hope that they can learn more about Kallmann’s syndrome and hope they can figure out why I have the rare genetic medical condition and how to treat it.

Overall, what the National Institute of health and the Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center is a Beacon of Hope when your doctors back home have given up on you. This place gives people hope that they can find cures to their problems. Research public health issues like AIDS, Cancer, heart and lung issues. This place is hope and hope that what they are researching and finding can lead to better treatments and better cures for rare diseases and medical conditions. I will recommended anyone that has a medical condition to participate in a research study. Give something to modern medicine and contribute to medical research by participating in a research study and help these doctors and scientist find cures to every medical condition out their. I did and that is something I will remember for the rest of my life. That I helped contribute to find would why I have Kallmann’s syndrome and my time spent at the National Institute of health and the Mark O Hatfield Clinical research center.

(Full Disclosure: I was one of the protocol patients at the National Institute of Health in the Mark O. Hatfield Clinical research center they were studying for)