The Bitter Asian American

As an Asian American and Laotian American, I have seen my fair share of discrimination both overly and covertly. I have seen many times where people and organizations have denied me a chance to be part of their organization or be part of the leadership and management team. I have seen how discrimination based on race and ethnicity discrimination is alive and well in America. Even in professional organizations such as Emergency medical service and the Fire service, I have seen many kinds of racism and discriminatory practices that have been done to me. Even in organizations like the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, I have seen my fair share of overt and covert racism and discrimination based on my race, ethnicity and disability.

Even as an EMT, I have seen many forms of discrimination based on my ethnicity, race and disability. Every Volunteer fire and EMS department I have been with. I have seen my fair share of racism and discrimination. Being that I’m an Asian American, EMT and disabled, I have been denied chances to ever fully use my EMT skills or be part of any Volunteer Fire or Volunteer EMS dept. Every volunteer Fire dept and Volunteer EMS dept I was in, I was always treated like crap and never part of the dept. I was always denied chances to take part in training or be part of the leadership team.  Being an EMT, I never had any chance to use my EMT skills cause almost all the Volunteer Fire and EMS depts. I have been with. Either you had to know someone or you were part of the in crowd. At the same time you were never treated as an equal or part of the team.

Even in the US Coast Guard Auxiliary that I was part of, I have seen my fair share of Racism and discrimination based on my race, ethnicity and disability. When I signed on with them, I thought I was going to be able to do things with the US Coast Guard Auxiliary. When they found out about my disability, they made it very hard for me to do things such as go out on patrols, do vessel inspections or Marine safety and environmental protection missions. Every time I tried to take part in missions with the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, I was always meet with resistance or covertly trying to say they do not have time for me. Even when it came to trying to get qualified as a VE or Boat crew, people in the Auxiliary did not want to help me because of my disability and my race. Which is why I left them because I felt the US Coast Guard Auxiliary was being discriminatory based on my race and disability.

Even in College, I have always seen my fair share of discrimination based on my race and ethnicity. For example, when I once tried to join a Fraternity, I was turned down because of my race, ethnicity and my disability. Even in student clubs such as student government, I was always denied a chance because of my race, ethnicity, disability and social status. Every club on campus, I never had the chance to take part or lead because I was not part of the in crowd or with the popular group. Every opportunity that was available on campus was only for those who either white, black was or Latino. Even playing sports on campus, was very racial and discriminatory because campus sports always thought that Asian Americans don’t play sports. Which is why my College experience is different from a white, black or Latino person and mines were always because I never got a chance to do anything and every opportunity was only for the privileged few.

I also have even seen my fair share of discrimination in the intersex community as well. As an Asian American who is Intersex and has Kallmann’s syndrome. My voice and opinion never matters unless your white, black , latino and Intersex. It seems like in the Intersex community, if your white, black or latino. Your voice and opinion matters. Whereas if your Asian American, you get ignored and dismissed as a nobody. That’s why, every intersex organization I have seen from OII to Advocates for informed choice, only care and listen if your White, Black, Latino and Intersex. Asian Americans like me who are Intersex, get constantly ignored and dismissed because my opinions don’t matter because I’m not white, black or latino like them.

Even in politics in this country, politicians only listen to those who are white, black or Latino and have Money. I have seen many times where both the Republican Party and Democrat party ignore and dismiss Asian Americans and only listen to what White, Black and Latino people have to say. Even as an Asian American, no politician in this country has ever asked what the Asian American community wants. I have not seen one republican or democrat presidential addressed any issue that Asian Americans face. It seems like in America, politics are only for the privileged white, black or Latino Americans. Asian Americans, no matter what their status are always ignored by the politicians. That’s why in this country I don’t vote for democrat or Republican. I simply vote Independent because neither the Republicans or Democrats in this country never bother to listen to what Asian Americans like myself have to say.

Which is why I think Racism and discrimination is very much alive and well in this country. People who think Racism and discrimination is long gone are either crazy or because it never happens to them or even they never faced any type of racism or discrimination. As an Asian American and a Laotian American, I have seen my fair share of Racism and discrimination and even have seen how many times I never get a chance to do things because of my race, ethnicity and disability. Which is why I think in this country racism and discrimination is still alive in this country and it’s dividing people into the have and have nots.