Rare Disease day

Today is Rare Disease day and I want to take this moment to let people know that as someone who has Kallmann’s syndrome and is born with an Intersex/DSD condition. I’m supporting Rare Disease day 2016 and bringing to light the fact that people like me who are Intersex/DSD have a Rare disease. I have a Rare Disease call Kallmann’s Syndrome and I’m living proof that I am surviving and thriving with my Rare Disease.

I’m living proof that I can live very comfortably with my rare disease and even thrive in it. Being an Intersex/DSD person and having a rare disease call Kallmann’s syndrome is proof that I never let me rare disease bring me down. I never let my rare disease be a handicap and instead it empowers me and often times inspires me to be myself and do great things. What’s nice about that is, i’m going to be one of the very few people who have a Rare disease and an Intersex/DSD condition graduate from college with a Bachelors degree in May. That’s an accomplishment and an achievement in itself.

So today, please thank those who are celebrating Rare Disease day 2016 and thank those who have a Rare Disease and are alive today. I’m thankful that I am living proof that I can survive and thrive with my rare disease and live to tell about it. So today is a day that people like me who have a Rare Disease can celebrate it and talk about it.