Laotian, Hmong Americans Cautiously Optimistic Ahead of Obama’s Laos Visit 

Obama will be the first U.S. president to visit Laos, according to the White House.

As a Laotian American, its great that I can see Lao Americans finally getting the exposure and recognition in this country. Too often Lao Americans like myself are the invisible minority in this country and not many people in America would know what Laos is, let alone find Laos on a map. This visit is nice because it finally puts Laos on the world stage and more importantly it beings Lao Americans like myself out from the shadows.

In America, being Lao American, I am often times mistaken for being Chinese, Japanese or Korean. That is too often because Americans commonly see Chinese, Japanese and Koreans. They hardly ever encountered a Lao, Thai or Vietnamese, which is why sometimes Lao Americans are the invisible minority in this country. With Obama being the first president to visit Laos. This will be the first time that Laotian American’s like myself get recognition and exposure. It’s finally being able to put a face on the invisible Minority and being able to show Americans that Lao people are in this country.

I’m glad that Obama is going to be visiting Laos next week at the ASEAN conference in Laos. It’s finally going to show the world what Laos is and what Lao Americans like myself are in this country. I know it’s going to be a great day for Lao Americans when we see a US President visiting our country.

Source: Laotian, Hmong Americans Cautiously Optimistic Ahead of Obama’s Laos Visit – NBC News