The Lao view of the American political process

Being Laotian American in America, American politics is as foreign as the country itself. It’s why not many Laotian Americans are not very active in the American political process because it’s either daunting or not inclusive enough. Even if we were offered a chance to take part or run for political office, most of us would never get involve because either we don’t have any interest, no time and no politician in America has ever talked to the Laotian American community about its issues and concerns. It’s why in America, not many Laotian Americans are interested in the politics of this country because to often politicians from every political party from the local to the federal level have ignored the Laotian American community. The Laotian American community is often times seen as a place to pad their votes instead of taking an active interest or addressing their concerns.

It’s why in the Laotian American community, you hardly ever see a Lao American ever talk about politics or the political process in America because no politician in America has EVER asked the Lao American community about its needs, issues and concerns. It’s why the Lao American community is often times pandered to just to get their votes instead of talking to them and discussing their issues.

It’s why in the American political process, the Laotian American community is overlooked, hidden and Ignored because in the larger context of the Asian American community, Lao American’s don’t have the same clout or pull as Chinese Americans, Japanese Americans, Vietnamese Americans and Korean Americans do. It’s why as a Laotian American, I simply politics in America as a no go zone or foreign territory because no politician in America has ever reached out to the Laotian American community in America and I have not seen one politician come to a Lao Wat Temple to talk about their issues and concerns.

It’s why I am not a huge FAN of the American political system and if I ever were to get into the US political system and run for political office, I would not run on a democrat or republican ticket. That is because those two political parties never cared about the Laotian American community and only used the Lao American’s to pad their votes. If I ran for political office, I would run on a platform of cutting taxes such as property and income taxes for the Middle class and working class. I would try to find ways to bring more JOBS and businesses back to my home state. I would abolish all the antiquated laws that hinder workers and businesses. At the same time, I would strengthen Gun laws and give Gun owners more rights including repealing the Assault weapons ban and banning the Convicted felons & Mentally ill from owning guns for life. I would also at the same time work to streamline the Government to make it more cost-effective to the taxpayers and the public. That means reducing cost and merging functions that would make the government-run more smoothly.  I would also work on making Marijuana legal in my state and model it after Colorado. I would also at the same time codify my state’s gender Identity laws to ban anyone who’s a convicted felon or registered sex offender from using Gender Identity to hide from their crimes. That would mean anyone who is convicted of a crime or is a registered sex offender would be banned from Gender identity protection for LIFE. Even as an Intersex person, I would work to strengthen laws to protect Intersex/DSD people and create laws that protect Intersex/DSD people from harm and discrimination. Above all, I would make the government answer to the people and ban lobbyist and special interest groups from influencing the state. On top of that I would repeal the Death Penalty and push for an Automatic LIFE without parole for murder’s and those who commit heinous crimes.

Even though what I said above is what my ideal politician would be in this country but If I ever were to run for political office in this country. I would run on a platform that I listed above. I would run on an Independent ticket and not a Democrat or Republican ticket because both of those parties never cared about the Laotian American community and only used the Lao American community to pad their votes. It’s why I would work hard to raise the profile of the Laotian American community from being hidden and ignored to be recognized as part of the American political process.

Though in reality, I don’t ever see a Laotian American ever run for political office in my life time and it would never happen as long as I am alive. That is because you don’t see Laotian American’s ever aspire for political office because there is hardly any opportunities for them and it’s why Lao American’s don’t see any opportunities in the American political system.