Intersex insult in a Family Locker room

As an intersex person, I got insulted today at the Wheeler YMCA by this ignorant father and daughter in the family/special needs Co-ed locker rooms because he ignorantly thinks I don’t belong in their and thinks it’s a family locker room. What he didn’t realize is that the locker room I was in is a Family/Special needs Co-ed  Locker room. It’s not only for Families but also for disabled people and also for Intersex people like myself or anyone who’s not comfortable in using the gendered locker rooms.

Being intersex person with Kallmann’s syndrome and deaf in one ear, I don’t use the men’s or women’s locker room. I use the family/special needs Co-ed  locker room because it’s more comfortable and I feel safer than in the men’s or women’s locker rooms. It’s why this ignorant father & daughter I encountered in the family/special needs Co-ed  locker room at the Wheeler YMCA today said something sexist, derogatory and insensitive towards intersex people and disabled people like myself. I felt like this ignorant father demeaned me and intimidated me for being in a locker room that I am comfortable in. I felt like this ignorant father didn’t understand what it means to have a Family/Special needs Co-ed Locker room.

It’s why today, I felt uncomfortable and insecure in the family/special needs Co-ed  locker room at the Wheeler YMCA because some ignorant asshole who didn’t understand what it means to have a family/special needs Co-ed  locker room. He thought it was for families only but didn’t realize that not only families can use the locker room, but also disabled people, Intersex people and people with Sex and gender issues.

2 thoughts on “Intersex insult in a Family Locker room

  1. He was looking out for his daughter. You need to learn and accept that not everyone understands or accepts your special needs. Be polite, be understanding and accepting and you will find others will return the favour. Change takes time – for everyone.

Comments are closed.