Intersex locker room debate

As an Intersex/DSD person who has Kallmann’s syndrome and who works out in the Gym a lot. One of the dogging issues I have is what Locker room do I use. Normally there are men, women and Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker rooms in the Gym. The locker room, I normally use about 90% of the time is the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room.

At the Wheeler YMCA I go to, I use the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room and also, I’m allowed to use the Women’s locker room as well. I’m one of the few Intersex people at the Wheeler YMCA who is allowed to use the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room and the women’s locker room. The people at the Wheeler YMCA are very accommodating and understanding towards intersex people like myself. Which is why the Wheeler YMCA allows me to use whatever locker room, I am comfortable with either the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room or the women’s locker room.

As far as the locker room and Bathroom debate that is going around in this country with the transgender. What people don’t see is that intersex people such as myself have a totally different issue when it comes into the locker room and bathroom debate. When it comes to what locker, room or bathroom intersex people should use, ours is based more on Biology and medical science. Where as the Trans, the locker room and bathroom issue is based on psychology and pure fetish. It’s why, the locker and bathroom debate for Intersex people centers around our biology and having places accommodate and intersex person’s biology. The Locker room and Bathroom debate for intersex people is largely about complying with ADA laws and accommodating Intersex people in either the men, women’s and Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room.

That’s why for me as an Intersex person with Kallmann’s syndrome. The bathroom and locker room issue is all about accommodating my Intersex condition and allowing me to use the bathroom or locker room that I am most comfortable in. Many times that is the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room, but other times, making allowances and accommodations to allow Intersex people such as myself in the women’s bathroom or locker room.

It’s why when I go to the gym at the Wheeler YMCA, I often times use the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room, but other times, I will use the women’s locker room, only if it’s quiet and women at the Wheeler YMCA are ok with and intersex person using the women’s locker room. I would never use the women’s locker room if women are uncomfortable with an Intersex person in the women’s locker room. I would always go to the default locker room and that is the Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room.

It’s why the way I see the Bathroom and the locker room debate that is going around this country. I see it more as being accommodating to Intersex people and letting intersex people pick the bathroom and locker room they are most comfortable in. Whether it’s Men, women or Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room. In this case, I am all for allowing medically diagnosed Intersex people use the Bathroom and locker room they are most comfortable in, whether it’s men, women or Gender Neutral/Special needs/Family locker room. I am comfortable in allowing medically diagnosed intersex people to use any bathroom or locker room they are comfortable in and that could be the women’s locker room or bathroom. Where as the Trans, I am dead-set against them using either locker room they feel because their issues is not biological and it’s more psychological and pure fetish. It’s why I am supportive of medically diagnosed Intersex people using the bathroom they are most comfortable in but also oppose Trans using the locker room or bathroom they feel.