What it means to be Intersex in the US Military

Ever since President Donald Trump has announced on Twitter yesterday that he’s banning Transgender people from serving in the US Military. What many people don’t understand that US Military service is not a right or a social experiment. The US Military is in the business of defending this country and winning wars. It’s a privilege for those who put on the uniform and defend the nation. It’s no different from me as an Intersex person who is serving with the United States Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member. Being an intersex person in the United States Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member is a privilege and a huge honor for me.

What many people in this country don’t understand is that you can be rejected for military service in either Active Duty, reserves and National guard for a number of reasons such as having flat feet, Mental illness, Depression, Diabetes, having Seizures and even transexualism can all diqualify you from serving in the US Military. Even being an Intersex person, I am barred from going into Active Duty, reserves and National guard but I am still able to serve in the US Military with the United States Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member. That is because in the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, there is NO medical requirement to serve and the Minimum age to sign up is 17 yrs old. It’s why the United States Coast Guard affords me the opportunity as an Intersex person to serve my country and contribute to the defense of the nation as an Auxiliary member.

Being an Intersex person in the United States Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member, I am no different than everyone else. I just happen to be born with an Intersex condition and i’m also deaf in one ear. It doesn’t hinder me in completing the missions that the US Coast Guard sets out for Auxiliary members and I even work side by side with the Gold side, aka Active and reserve side of the US Coast Guard. In my part with the US Coast Guard, I’m a vessel Examiner and I help the US Coast Guard Inspect vessels for them and on behalf of the United States Coast Guard. On top of that, I am one of the very few Intersex people who is working on getting Boat crew qualified, Public Affairs qualified and getting the active duty Marine Safety and environmental protection qualified as well. Not many Intersex people can say they can do this with the US Military and especially with the United States Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member.

It’s why when President Donald Trump banned Trans people from serving in the US Military, he’s doing so on cost grounds and the fact that we are fighting radical islamic terrorist. Terrorist or the enemy don’t care about your gender, pronouns, race, sex, gender or gender ID. On top of that, taxpayers can’t afford to pay for someone to come into the military, just to have SRS. It’s why trans have a very high suicide rate and that alone is why Trans are barred from serving in the US Military. Why would the US taxpayers want some trans in a Military uniform who has a very high suicide rate and would put the troops, unit or ship at risk. It’s why President Donald Trump was right in getting rid of President Obama’s Trans policy because the risk is too much for the Military to bear during the war.

It’s why being an Intersex person, I’m largely scott free from the Trans debate in the US Military mainly because being in the US Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member. I get to do things in the US Coast Guard and I am not subjected to the Dept of Defense’s medical standards. In the US Coast Guard, as an Auxiliary member, I can do anything the US Coast Guard ask of me as long as I am physically capable of performing the Mission and it’s not gona hinder the Active and reserve side of the US Coast Guard. That’s why I am so fortunate and lucky enough that the US Coast Guard has the Auxiliary program and as an Intersex person, I can contribute my part to the overall US Coast Guard Mission and the defense of the Nation as well. It has a place for people who can’t meet the Enlistment standards for the Active, reserve and National Guard of the US Military and I’m able to be part of that, as an Auxiliary member

Here’s some fun facts the US Coast Guard Auxiliary dose

Here’s what the US Coast Guard Auxiliary dose for the Nation

This is what an Intersex person serving in the United States Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member looks like

Getting ready to do som VSC's for the USCG #uscg #uscgaux

A post shared by Nicky K.D Chaleunphone (@kamododragon) on

This is doing my part to keep the Nation safe and free

Out, doing VSC's for the US Coast Guard #uscg #uscgaux #self

A post shared by Nicky K.D Chaleunphone (@kamododragon) on

It’s why being an Intersex person and a deaf person in the US Military with the US Coast Guard as an Auxiliary member is not a barrier for me from serving my country and contributing my part in the defense of the Nation.

Leave a message

