The down side of Kallmann’s syndrome

Being an Intersex/DSD person who happens to have Kallmann’s syndrome and Vitiligo, there is a HUGE down side that comes with having Kallmann’s syndrome. Most of its either overtly and covertly and many times, it comes with having this rare disease. Many times, the down side of it, has to do with the fact that because of Kallmann’s syndrome, many things are associated with the condition. The most that impacts me is how I look way younger than my age and how people don’t take me seriously, treat me like a normal person or give me the same opportunities as everyone else. It’s why the hardest part of Kallmann’s syndrome is trying to be me, when people see me as being too young looking to do anything

Which is why having Kallmann’s syndrome can oftentimes be a hindrance for me because, when I want to do something or get in on something. I am sometimes denied the opportunity or often times passed over because I look too young to be involve or that they assume I am too young looking and immature to be involved in something. It’s why most times, I don’t get to do anything that is remotely normal like everyone else and I don’t get the opportunities to get involve or more up in the world. Many times, people skip past me because people assume I look too young to be doing this or that.

It’s why despite having Kallmann’s syndrome, I don’t get to do anything important or be involved in something. Even when I am in an organization, I don’t get to move up because people think or assume, I look too young to be doing that. Which oftentimes, I don’t get high enough or even a promotion. One example, is how I have my EMT card and I hardly ever use it because not many places including many volunteer rescue squads, think and assume I look way too young for them. Which as a result, makes me feel like because of Kallmann’s syndrome, people think and assume, I am too young looking to be with them. It even extends into dating and relationships as well. Biological women skip past me, simply because I look way to young looking for my age. People assume, I am too young to date them and as a result, I am skipped over. It’s why, I don’t date anymore and I don’t even bother looking for a date or even a girlfriend, simply because what I have, what I have to deal with, I doubt anyone with want to take part of it.

It’s why many people who think looking young as you get older is great. But then, there’s a huge price you have to pay for looking young as you get older and I see it all the damn time as someone who has Kallmann’s syndrome and looks way younger than their actual age. I see it covertly and even overtly when people who look at me, think I look like a late teen or young adult instead of an older adult. I see it when people skip pass me all the time and don’t notice me at all. I even see it when people think and assume that I look way too young to be in charge or doing things that normal people get to do. I even see it when people never give me a chance to do anything because people assume, I look too damn young.

Which is why the down side to having Kallmann’s syndrome for me, is that people and society tend to think I look way too damn young to be doing things. People don’t even notice me until it’s too damn late. I don’t get the same opportunities or being given a chance to do things or eve lead. Many times, people assume that i’m too damn young or too damn immature to be in charge or leading. It’s why having Kallmann’s syndrome and looking young than your age is nice, but then, there’s a heavy price and heavy burden I have to pay for having Kallmann’s syndrome and it’s something I wouldn’t even wish on my own worst enemy.